Windows Phone Marketplace expands to 13 new countries


The Windows Phone Marketplace is now available to 13 additional countries.

With this new countries, the Marketplace is available now in 54 countries.

The new places are:

  • Bulgaria
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • Estonia
  • Iceland
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine
  • Venezuela

But this is still not all. Microsoft is set to bring the Windows Phone Marketplace to more countries this year, as they announced at this years Mobile World Congress (UAE, Bahrain, Iraq, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Kazakhstan, Israel, Thailand, and Vietnam).

Microsoft also states that the Marketplace regions may not be visible immediately. As we all know, rolling out changes to the Marketplace takes up to 48 hours. The additional regions will also be added to the Web Marketplace.

If you live in the above mentioned countries and want to change your Marketplace region to your local region, here is a how-to for changing it from Mirocosft.

For developers:

If you are a Windows Phone developer, you can expand your app availability to the new marketplace. You have to “cross-submit” your apps to the new marketplaces. If you haven´t done this before, check this nice tutorial from Microsoft to learn more about it.

source: Windows Phone Blog

Join the discussion right now!